vi » Kosher General

Misconceptions about Kosher

Before we begin explaining in detail what "kosher" is, let's first clarify what it is not:
"I thought "kosher" means that a Rabbi blessed the food" – False!
There are blessings that observant Jews recite before partaking of food, but that has nothing to do with making the food kosher. A food is kosher only if it conforms to the Jewish dietary laws.
"Kosher? Sure, I buy kosher-style food all the time – knishes, matzoh ball soup, bagels" – False!
Kosher is not a style of cooking. Chinese food can be kosher if prepared in accordance with Jewish law. On the other hand, traditional Jewish foods, such as knishes bagels, blintzes and matzah ball soup, can all be non-kosher if not prepared according to Kosher rules. In fact, when a restaurant identifies itself as "kosher-style", it almost invariably means that the food is not actually kosher!
"Kosher? Isn't that just connected to Passover?" – False!
Kosher dietary laws are observed all year round. There are additional dietary restrictions on Passover, and many foods acceptable for year round use, such as breads and pasta, may not be eaten on Passover. Foods that are kosher for Passover, however, are always kosher for year-round use.